The Hip-Hop Hour


Playlist 3-22
March 24, 2009, 10:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Big L- “Put it On”: Yeah, I got in a minute late, and just sort of threw on whatever came first, but it doesn’t mean it’s not a great song.

Asher Roth- “I Love College”: A bunch of people heard this spiel tonight at dinner, but at this point I just sort of feel sorry for him. I mean it’s not his fault he has the exact same voice as Eminem, and he seems like a nice enough guy. I like this beat, and I’m not ashamed. His rhymes just seem juvenile, which means that he is certain to blow up among white, high school-age rap fans. Though when it comes to albums out on 4/20, I’d rather listen to his debut than Rick Ross’s new whatever.

Lupe Fiasco- “Go Go Gadget Flow”: It was a lazy show for me, I’m sorry. I like this song, and I’m trying to work my way back through The Cool to see if I can gain an appreciation for it.

N.A.S.A.- “The Mayor”- This features Ghostface and the Cool Kids, and maybe Scarface too. It’s the best I’ve ever heard the Cool Kids sound. I think they just need some beats that aren’t their own minimalistic, boring attempts.

Common- “Driving Me Wild”: I finally gave this album a chance, and it took it. Finding Forever has way more good songs than I realized. I bet if you put the album on you’ll realize that too.

Jake One- “The Truth”: I’m the host, and I play what I want. That beat is so awesome. I think Freeway and Brother Ali do it justice, which means they mostly just stay out of the way and avoid sounding stupid.

GZA- “Paper Plate”: When is 50 Cent going to respond to this? Clearly he isn’t half the MC GZA is, and I think he realizes that as well. Besides, would you go up against the Wu-Tang Clan?

Sage Francis- “Water Line”: MC Chris Barnes are you listening? Human the Death Dance is 9000000000X better than Personal Journalist. But seriously, this song is really really good.

Kanye West- “School Spirit”: 3 short songs in a row, but all of them are really good. This balances out the super long songs I play later in the show.

Masta Ace- “Soda and Soap”: This is a leftover from an MC Chris Barnes mixtape. It was okay. The EmC (EMc? EMC? I’m not sure how they spell it) album from last year is actually really good. I think it’s called The Show.

Cam’ron- “Let Me Know”: Samples the NFL song? Awesome. This guy has a new album coming out very soon.

Art Official- “Clockwork”: This song wasn’t as cool as the one I played a few weeks ago, but it was still pretty good.

Eyedea & Abilities- “Now”: I meant to get an LP by these guys for a long time, but I don’t really care anymore. Plus, this track didn’t impress me, so I’ll probably let it go. Eyedea has some pretty good freestyles on youtube though.

Nas- “What Goes Around”: This is one of the last tracks on Stillmatic, and so it’s really easy to overlook, but I think it’s one of the few examples of Nas putting together a song that has a beat, hook, and lyrics that are all pretty solid.

Wu-Tang Clan- “Triumph”: This is where I started playing long songs because I was worn out and lazy. Still a good song though.

Aesop Rock- “None Shall Pass”: I haven’t listened to this album yet, but Chris was right about this song.\

Mobb Deep- “Shook Ones pt. 2”: This beat really is classic, which I realized watching Eminem free-style over it in 8 Mile. More recently I heard someone else freestyle over it and realized it again.

Joell Ortiz- “125 pt.3 (Connections)”- Why do I push this guy so hard? Because I really like his debut LP The Brick: Bodega Chronicles, and I don’t think you’ve given it a chance.

Crooked I- “Creased Khaki Flow”: He just got shot at or something the other week, so I hope everything is all right in his life. I finally gave The Block Obama mixtape the attention it deserved, and it has some songs on there. This isn’t from that, but it is still pretty good.

UGK- “Real Women”: Good song. Talib is a talented dude, and UGK deserves more credit and attention than I’ve given them.

Ghostface Killah- “Daytona 500”: Speaking of classic beats… Listen to Ironman, because it is almost as good as Cuban Linx and Fishscale, but people don’t want to give it credit.

A short playlist, sure, but I was tired, and it still was an okay show, just a lot of replays. Next week will be better! I promise!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment